Sign In / Register
Lesson 2 of 3

Read the spec sheet.
Then read the warranty.

A cabinet line comes with a certificate, a construction sheet, and a warranty. All three are short. All three are written to be skimmed. Here is how to read them slowly, with the lines Midway sells as the examples.

The certificate

The KCMA seal is a list of tests. Here they are.

The Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturers Association has certified cabinets since 1965. The standard is ANSI/KCMA A161.1, the current edition is 2022, and the certificate a maker gets names the door styles that passed and says in plain words that flat-pack cabinets are not covered. The tests run in an independent lab on samples pulled during an unannounced visit to the plant. There are more than a dozen, in five groups, and they are worth knowing because they are the failures you are trying to buy your way out of.

Structure. Every shelf and bottom is loaded at 15 pounds a square foot and left for seven days; no sag past the limit, no joint opening. A mounted wall cabinet is loaded to 600 pounds. The front joints of a base take 250 pounds pushed against the stiles from inside. A 3-pound steel ball is dropped 6 inches onto the shelves, bottoms, and drawer bottoms, the way a can gets dropped.

Drawers. Loaded at 15 pounds a square foot and run through 25,000 cycles; afterward the drawer has to work and the bottom cannot have sagged into the slide. Then a 3-pound weight is dropped 8 inches against the drawer front ten times, which is a drawer being slammed.

Doors. Swung 90 degrees, 25,000 times, with the hinges then checked for looseness. Then 65 pounds is hung on the open door, it is worked ten times, and it hangs there ten minutes. That is a child on the door.

Finish. A door goes in a box at 120 degrees and 70 percent humidity for 24 hours. Another goes through the hot box for an hour and then a cold box at 5 below zero. Then the exposed surfaces sit for 24 hours under vinegar, lemon, orange and grape juice, ketchup, coffee, olive oil, and 100-proof alcohol. Mustard gets an hour. A door edge soaks in detergent for up to a day. Nothing may discolor that will not polish off.

Of the lines Midway sells, Marsh, Kith, and Premium Choice are in the KCMA directory of certified companies. Marsh publishes its certificate: number 25099R, issued August 2025, listing 22 door styles by name. Fabuwood, U.S. Cabinet Depot, and L&C are not in the directory at this writing; their construction is on their own sheets, which the next section reads, and Midway keeps every one of them open on the floor. There is also a KCMA Severe Use standard, written first for HUD housing that turns over often; if you are building rentals, ask about it.

Ask

Is this line certified, and is the door style I picked on the certificate. If it is not certified, which of these tests does the maker publish. Is the cabinet shipping assembled, since the seal does not cover flat pack.

KCMA A161.1 testWhat the lab doesThe kitchen failure it stands for
Shelf load15 pounds per square foot on every shelf and bottom, seven daysThe sagging shelf
Wall cabinet loadMounted cabinet loaded to 600 poundsThe upper that pulls off the wall
Front joint250 pounds against the stiles from inside (200 without a drawer rail)The face frame that opens at the corner
Drop3-pound steel ball from 6 inches onto shelves and drawer bottomsThe dropped can
Drawer cycles25,000 cycles at 15 pounds per square footThe drawer that binds or drops its bottom
Drawer front3-pound weight dropped 8 inches, ten timesThe slammed drawer
Door cycles25,000 swings through 90 degreesThe door that goes loose at the hinge
Door load65 pounds on the open door, ten cycles, ten minutesThe child on the door
Heat and cold24 hours at 120 degrees and 70 percent humidity; hot box then 5 below zeroThe door over the range, the unheated house
Spill and stainVinegar, juices, ketchup, coffee, olive oil, 100-proof alcohol for a day; mustard for an hour; detergent on the edgeThe finish that clouds or lifts
The tell

A seal with a certificate number and a door-style list behind it is a spec. "Built to last" on a brochure is a claim. Ask for the certificate.

Numbered exploded drawings of a Fabuwood Allure wall cabinet and base cabinet with sixteen callouts, and an inset of the dovetail groove where the side panel meets the face frame
A construction sheet as the makers print it: sixteen numbered parts on two cabinets, with the joint drawn in section. Fabuwood Allure Series product literature.
The construction sheet

Every line Midway sells, line by line.

A construction sheet is one page, and the same eight lines appear on every one. Below is what each maker prints for the lines Midway carries, in the maker's own words where it matters. Where a maker does not publish a line, the cell says so; Midway will not fill it in for them, and neither should a salesman.

Read the sheet top to bottom in this order: box panels, back, face frame or edge banding, shelf, door frame and panel by finish, drawer box and bottom, hinge and slide with the brand and rating, and the interior finish. Then read the exposed-end line, because a frameless box in a melamine skin needs a panel on any side you can see, and the sheet will say so. Lesson 1 explains why each line matters; this one is the reference.

LineFabuwood AllureU.S. Cabinet Depot CapitalL&C framedFrameless lines
Box1/2-inch veneered plywood sides, top, and bottom; sides dovetailed into the face frame; 2-1/2 by 1/2 inch plywood panel beams dovetailed into the sides1/2-inch plywood box, UV-coated to match the exterior; solid birch and furniture-grade plywood1/2-inch plywood panels with a wood veneer (wall cabinets); all-metal bracketsU.S. Cabinet Depot altaeuro: 18-millimeter plywood composite, melamine in and out, dowel and screw. L&C E-Series: 3/4-inch plywood, white melamine. Premium Choice Eurolux: 3/4-inch plywood, taupe finish
Back1/2-inch veneered plywood, stapled and screwed1/2-inch plywood, full heightNot publishedaltaeuro: top and back support rails. Others not published
Face frame3/4 by 1-1/2 inch solid wood, glue and dowel3/4 by 1-3/4 inch hardwood; a 30-inch base has a 26-1/2 inch openingNot publishedNone; 1-millimeter edge banding (altaeuro), front edge banding (L&C)
Shelf18-millimeter veneered plywood, wood veneer edge, metal clips3/4-inch plywood, front edge bandedNot published on framed; metal shelf pins on framelessaltaeuro: full-depth 18-millimeter, fully edge banded. L&C: 3/4-inch plywood
DoorSolid wood stiles and rails, mortise and tenon, MDF center panel; painted styles HDF frame with moisture-resistant MDF panel; 3/4 by 2-1/2 inch stiles on GalaxyStained: 3/4-inch solid birch, solid or veneered MDF panel by style. Painted: all HDF, five-pieceFive-piece shaker; M-Series door is HDFaltaeuro Torino: melamine over engineered wood; Verona: five-piece painted HDF. Eurolux: 3/4-inch MDF or particleboard core, laminate
Drawer5/8-inch solid wood dovetail, 3/8-inch plywood bottom, 3 inches inside5/8-inch solid hardwood dovetail, captured 3/8-inch plywood floor, 70 pounds1/2-inch hardwood dovetailaltaeuro altamax: 1/2-inch metal sides, 5/8-inch melamine floor, 88 or 132 pounds. L&C: 3/4-inch plywood box
Hinge and slideBlum Compact Clip with Blumotion, six-way, 110 degrees (31C3355B.20); Blum Tandem plus Blumotion full extension (563H); no soft-close on Lazy Susan, Easy Reach, Pie CutSix-way European hinge with soft-close; undermount full-extension soft-close glides; roll-out trays side-mount, no soft-close, 35 poundsSix-way 110-degree soft-close hinge; undermount full-extension self-close glidealtaeuro: Hettich Sensys 110-degree soft-close, altamax full-extension soft-close. L&C: DTC soft-close hinges and undermount glides
Interior and endsNatural finished plywood; 1/4-inch finished MDF applied to the ends you flagUV-coated natural plywood; finished exterior, no end panel neededNot publishedaltaeuro: grey linen melamine, end panel required on exposed sides
Two lines Midway cannot read for you

Marsh and Kith do not publish a box construction sheet on their public sites; Marsh's KCMA certificate and warranty and Kith's door species (maple, oak, HDF) are what is in print. Both are made to order and both are on the floor. Open the display and ask the designer for the dealer spec book for your door style.

The warranty

"Limited lifetime" has four lines that matter.

A cabinet warranty is one or two pages, and it is built the same way at every maker. The headline is the term. Under it are four lines that decide whether it pays: who is covered, what is paid, what is excluded, and whether it moves with the house. Here are the lines Midway sells, from their own documents.

Who. The first owner, for as long as they own the house. Marsh: "the original consumer purchaser ... for as long as they own the home in which Marsh products are originally installed." U.S. Cabinet Depot: "the original consumer purchaser ... for the lifetime of the product," proof of purchase required. Fabuwood: the "First Residential Purchaser," and for a builder, the first owner of the house. L&C: the original purchaser, as long as you own the dwelling. Not one of the four transfers to the next owner. Marsh says it "may not be transferred or assigned," U.S. Cabinet Depot and Fabuwood say "not transferable." A lifetime warranty is the life of your ownership, not the cabinet's.

What is paid. The part. Marsh: repair or replace at its election, and "does not cover any labor involved in the repair or installation of replacement parts," nor removal, nor transit damage. Fabuwood: "will not provide or pay for the cost of removal of defective product, transportation of defective, repaired or replaced product," and may refund the original price of the part instead. U.S. Cabinet Depot: repair or replace, and replacement parts "may differ from original." All three warn that a replacement door will not match the finish next to it, because the wood next to it has aged. None of them pay the installer.

What is excluded. The environment and the cleaning. Fabuwood does not cover cabinets "installed in locations that do not maintain year-round environmental controls," or hinges, slides, or cabinetwork that were modified, and it does not cover the Blum hardware at all; Blum warrants that itself, to the original homeowner, and its name has to be on the part. Marsh excludes abrasives and harsh cleaners, extreme temperature and moisture, prolonged tobacco smoke on the finish, improper installation, and cabinets bought before April 2018. L&C excludes outdoor use, improper storage before installation, and improper installation. Every one excludes the natural change of wood color in sunlight, and Fabuwood adds that finish stress lines at the joints of a painted door are the nature of the material, not a defect.

The term that is not lifetime. This is the line to find. Fabuwood's limited lifetime covers Allure, Illume, Value Premium, and Quest; its other Value series carries a limited five-year warranty. Marsh warrants wood-door cabinets for the owner's lifetime and its Captiv8 wrapped-MDF doors for five years. L&C's 2026 catalog heads the page "Limited 3 Years Warranty" and then, in the body, says the period runs as long as you own the dwelling; Midway will ask L&C which applies to your order and put the answer on the quote. When a maker sells two tiers and warrants one for five years, it is telling you where it expects the wear. That is useful information, and Lesson 3 uses it.

Read forMarshFabuwoodU.S. Cabinet DepotL&C
TermLimited lifetime; Captiv8 five yearsLimited lifetime on Allure, Illume, Value Premium, Quest; five years on other ValueLimited lifetime, including hinges and glides"Limited 3 Years" heading; body says as long as you own the dwelling
WhoOriginal purchaser, household use, while they own the homeFirst residential purchaser; builder passes to first ownerOriginal consumer purchaser, residentialOriginal purchaser
LaborNot covered; no removal or reinstallNo removal or transportRepair or replace the partNot stated
TransferMay not be transferredNot transferableNot transferableOriginal purchaser only
HardwareCovered as Marsh productBlum hardware excluded; Blum warrants it to the original homeownerHinges and glides coveredNot stated
EnvironmentExtreme temperature or moisture excludedYear-round environmental control requiredLack of maintenance excludedOutdoor use and improper storage excluded
Wood and finish changeNatural aging and sunlight excluded; abrasives excludedPainted joint lines and glaze variation are not defectsColor change is not a defect; replacement may not matchNormal wear excluded
NoticeClaim during the term; show you owned the home at purchaseVia the original dealer, with the invoiceThrough the supplier, with the invoiceContact L&C
Ask

Which term is my door style on. Who pays the labor if a door comes back. Does the hardware have its own warranty, and whose. Is the house conditioned year round, since one of these warranties requires it. Keep the invoice; every one of them asks for it.

The calendar

What "semi-custom" means is mostly a date.

The word describes how the cabinet gets made, and what it really tells you is when it arrives. A stock line is built ahead, in fixed sizes and a set finish list, and pulled from a warehouse. U.S. Cabinet Depot ships from regional stock and sells both assembled and flat-pack kits; L&C stocks in La Vergne, Tennessee, about 30 minutes from Midway; Fabuwood is built for quick-ship and is often about a week out. Premium Choice is a ready-to-assemble line stocked in nine finishes. A semi-custom line is built after you order it, in the door, species, and finish you picked, with some sizes and modifications available. Marsh builds in High Point, North Carolina, and Kith in Haleyville, Alabama; Midway figures four to eight weeks depending on the door style, the finish, and the season, and confirms the current number at quote. Custom is anything, and the longest wait.

Two things on the sheet change with that word. The certificate: the KCMA-certified lines Midway sells are the made-to-order ones and Premium Choice, and the seal does not cover flat pack. And the finish list: a semi-custom line offers dozens of stains, paints, and glazes because it sprays your door after you pick; a stock line offers what is on the shelf. Fabuwood's lifetime warranty on its quick-ship Allure line shows the two are not always a trade. Ask for the ship date and the certificate together, and pick the line the house is asking for.

Ask

Is this line stock or built to order, and what is the ship date on today's quote. Is it shipping assembled. Which door styles and finishes are on the line as printed, and which are a modification. What happens to the date if I change the door.

Next

Now put a number on it.

The certificate tells you which failures the line was tested against. The warranty tells you which ones the maker will pay for, and for whom. Lesson 3 is about the ones you pay for: the sagging shelf, a door peeling at its edge, slides that quit, and the kitchen a buyer asks you to replace before closing. It has a calculator that takes your own two quotes.

The second kitchen is the expensive one →

Before You Price Cabinets

Know what you are buying.

Three short reads on cabinets. Written for the builder who has to answer to the money, and for the homeowner who has to live with the kitchen.

Frequently Asked

Cabinet certification and warranties, answered.

What does KCMA certified mean on a cabinet?
The Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturers Association tests cabinet lines to the ANSI/KCMA A161.1 standard in an independent laboratory, with samples pulled during an unannounced visit to the plant. The tests are in five groups: structural (shelves and bottoms loaded at 15 pounds a square foot for seven days, wall cabinets loaded to 600 pounds, 250 pounds against the front joints, a 3-pound steel ball dropped 6 inches), drawer (25,000 cycles under load, a 3-pound weight dropped against the front ten times), door (25,000 swings, then 65 pounds hung on the open door), and finish (24 hours at 120 degrees and 70 percent humidity, a cold cycle to 5 below zero, a day under vinegar, juices, ketchup, coffee, olive oil, and 100-proof alcohol, an hour under mustard, and a detergent soak on the edge). A certificate lists the door styles that passed, and it says flat-pack cabinets are not covered. Marsh, Kith, and Premium Choice are in the KCMA directory of certified companies.
What does a limited lifetime cabinet warranty actually cover?
Parts, for the first owner, for as long as they own the house, and usually not the labor. Marsh will repair or replace a defective part for the original purchaser for as long as they own the home, does not cover labor or removal or reinstallation, and says the warranty may not be transferred. U.S. Cabinet Depot covers cabinets, hinges, and glides for the life of the product for the original purchaser, not transferable, residential use only. Fabuwood covers the first residential purchaser, not transferable, does not pay removal or transport, and does not cover the Blum hardware, which Blum warrants itself. All three say a replacement part may not match the aged finish next to it. "Lifetime" is the life of your ownership, not the cabinet's.
Why do some cabinet lines carry a five-year warranty instead of lifetime?
Because the maker draws a line between its construction tiers and says so. Fabuwood's limited lifetime warranty covers Allure, Illume, Value Premium, and Quest; its other Value series carries a limited five-year warranty. Marsh warrants its wood-door cabinets for the owner's lifetime and its Captiv8 wrapped-MDF doors for five years. L&C's 2026 catalog heads its warranty "Limited 3 Years" and then says the period runs as long as you own the dwelling; ask which applies to your order. The shorter term usually sits on the wrapped door or the lighter box, and that is the maker telling you where it expects the wear.
What voids a cabinet warranty?
Water, heat, and the wrong cleaner, mostly. Fabuwood excludes cabinets in a house without year-round environmental controls, and modified hinges, slides, or cabinetwork. Marsh excludes abrasives and harsh cleaners, extreme temperature and moisture, tobacco smoke on the finish, and improper installation. U.S. Cabinet Depot excludes misuse, accidents, and lack of maintenance. L&C excludes outdoor use, improper storage before install, and improper installation. Every one of them excludes the natural change in wood color and grain, and finish lines at the joints of a painted door. Keep proof of purchase; every one asks for it.
What does semi-custom mean on a cabinet order?
A line that is built after you order it, in your door style, species, and finish, with some sizes and modifications available, as against a stock line pulled from a warehouse in fixed sizes. Marsh and Kith build to order in North Carolina and Alabama; Midway figures four to eight weeks depending on the door, the finish, and the season, and confirms the current number at quote. The stock lines ship in days: Fabuwood is often about a week, U.S. Cabinet Depot ships from regional stock, and L&C stocks in La Vergne, about 30 minutes from Midway. Semi-custom buys you the KCMA-certified made-in-America box and the finish wall; stock buys you the calendar. The designer will tell you which your house is asking for.
What is CARB2 on a cabinet spec sheet?
A formaldehyde emissions limit for the pressed-wood parts of a cabinet: the particleboard, MDF, and hardwood plywood. U.S. Cabinet Depot prints "CARB2 compliant" on its Capital spec sheet and says all its products comply with CARB Phase 1 and Phase 2. Marsh says every composite wood part in its cabinets must meet the Phase II CARB and TSCA Title VI limits and be certified by an EPA-approved third party, and it asked each of its panel suppliers for the paperwork. If a sheet does not mention it, ask.

Visit the Showroom

See it set up, in person.

Browse the displays and talk it through with our team, face to face.
119 Cumberland St, Ashland City. Y’all come by.

Call Directions Contact